65' bassman 100w head

a fine line between stupid and clever

65' bassman 100w head

Postby Mixfly » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:45 pm

So I'm the noob here. I love to play and I can't help but fiddle with everything I play through.

Long story short: I was given a 65' bassman head. The first thing I did was open it up.

I found that the caps had leaked and the tubes were looking pretty rough. Both the tubes and caps seem to be original. I know it sat in a closet in a theater in Texas for around 20 years, but not much else.

I want to play this amp but other than changing the caps and tubes I have no idea what else to check. I'm pretty good with a DMM and a soldering iron, but I've never worked with tubes before. So my questions are these:

1.) What brand of caps with sound the best (I play country and southern rock)

2.) What brand of tubes work best with this amp

3.) what should I check other than the tube and caps before I plug it in.

I'll take any advice, but this is an un-modified all original amp that probably hasn't had anything done to it since it left the factory. also, what do these amps go for in good original condition?
If I don't like it when I replace the caps I'll probably sell it.
Mixfly

Re: 65' bassman 100w head

Postby ChrisAlbertson » Thu Aug 05, 2010 7:09 pm

I'd only replace the electrolytic caps. The others don't really degrade in storage. You can't hear the brand of electrolytic filter caps. If any caps effect the sound it will be the coupling caps and even then the effect is subtle, more subtle then changing strings on the guitar

How do you know the tubes are not good? Dirt on the glass has no effect on the sound. I'd try the old tubes.

The safest way to power up an old un-known amp is with a variac and start with a low voltage just to see that nothing is shorted or open.

My guess is that the amp will make noise with no work on your part but I'd suspect any electrolytic that are 50 years old.