Red Bear MKE60 mod too 12ax7

a fine line between stupid and clever

Red Bear MKE60 mod too 12ax7

Postby Curran Murphy » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:01 pm

HEY HEY noob here with a rare and very cool red bear MKE60. this had the original russian tubes in it so I popped in a new set of 5881 short bottles and 12ax7's. the output became SUPER SUPER low but was still there(whisper quiet). there is a mod online for switching this amp to work properly with 12ax7's you pull the Heater leads from pins 4 and 5. run the heater lead from pin 4 to jumper between pin 4 and 5 and run the pin 5 heater too pin 9. you also remove the ground wire from pin 9 that was part of the original wiring scheme. This layour was on each tube socket. HOWEVER now that I have done this the amp just makes a very loud HUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM. until I kick it over from play too standby THEN you hear the amp start to work. do I need to "re-ground" the sockets or what and if so where do I ground them from. I am assuming that the little ground lugs next too the tube sockets that pin 9 was grounded too will work fine for grounding if this is what I am supposed too do.
thanks in advance for any help you can provide!!!

Love Curran
Curran Murphy

Postby mesherm » Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:55 pm

The amp must have originally used a 6 volt tube in that socket. Pin 9 on the tube is a ceter tap between the two filaments inside. Common practice was to ground that pin. So right now you have one heater lead connected to a jumpered pin 4 and 5 aand the other heater lead connected at pin 9?
Try this. Make sure that any ground wires going to pin 9 are lifted. You should only have the other heater lead connected there. Now take two 100 ohm 1 watt resistors and wire one end of each to a ground lug. Then wire the end of one resistor to the jumpered pins 4 and 5. Wire the other end of the other resistor to pin 9. that should re-establish that tube's ground reference.