MapleTree Audio Stealth60 to come out as a kit

knowledge base for the classic Dynaco ST70

Postby WA4SWJ » Mon Mar 20, 2006 9:50 pm

Hi John,

I see that no one has replied to your question so I thought I'd throw in my thoughts.

First, I have no experience at all with Mapletree Designs so I am not speaking from experience. I am only offering an opinion that to be honest is not based on much. So here goes.

How that amp sounds will depend on a large number of variables. The power supply, the output transformers, the circuit topology (and I have not experimented with that particular circuit as used by Mapletree), the quality of parts, the quality of the tubes, and on and on. It looks OK on paper. I would question why those particular tubes were selected. You don't often see a 6SL7 as a phase inverter for example. I happen to like 12BH7's or 6SN7's. But, it may sound just fine. Only your ears can tell. It would be very hard for anyone to praise or assail that design without actually hearing it. I don't think anyone can tell you how it will sound by just looking at the schematic.