ST-70 build combining kits, help needed

knowledge base for the classic Dynaco ST70

ST-70 build combining kits, help needed

Postby Aljaheejus » Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:02 pm

I am about half way into this amp build with an old chassis, the DIYtube stereo 70 driver board and the Triode Electronics ST-70 Capacitor board. Because I am not an electrical engineer, the combination of these two kits leaves me with some questions and in need of some guidance. I am also using a toroidal power transformer, but I think I've sorted out all those wires!

The Tubezone instructions are helpful, as they describe the (in some cases unique) EL-34 configurations as required for the DIYtube board. I'm confused by bottom of page 10, where it says pins 5 and 6 get connected to each other with a 1K resistor and "No other connection should be made to pin 6 or 5 on these sockets." Then on the next page, 11, it describes connection from J1 on the diytube PC board to pin 6 on V2 (EL34), and other connections to the #6 pins of each EL34. This seems consistent with the original schematic, so I'm left needing confirmation that the quoted statement above about "No other connection...." is superceded, shall we say, by the later instruction/requirement to connect #6 pins to the PC board. A big photo or drawing of the completed underside of the DIYtube build would be handy if someone can point to to that.

My other big question now really probably relates more to the Triode capacitor board. Does that eliminate the rectifier diode?

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
20160424_0001_x900q8.jpg
20160424_0001_x900q8.jpg (299.77 KiB) Viewed 26135 times
Aljaheejus

Re: ST-70 build combining kits, help needed

Postby Aljaheejus » Sun Apr 24, 2016 11:38 pm

Are the pictured resistors correct for the EL-34 connections?