"New" Chris Keller ST-70

knowledge base for the classic Dynaco ST70

"New" Chris Keller ST-70

Postby zonker92 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:50 am

OK, I'm a tube noob, and here's my first post: I'm just learning about these things, but here's a restored amp I just bought on eBay. I'm running it through some Valencia 846Bs that I've upgraded to Model 19 specs (GPA 902 horn drivers, 416-8B woofers and Zilch's Z19 crossovers, with Darst horn foams). I'm running a Sonos ZP-90 into it with no preamp; just using the gain control on the Sonos, playing mostly lossless music files.

Here's what Chris said about the amp (I'm blending his eBay posting and his notes to me):

Here is a gorgeous example of a Dyna ST-70 power amp. The ST-70 is one of the most popular amps of all time, with over 300,000 of them made. This one has been totally restored to better than new spec. Chassis totally stripped and painted; new power supply capacitors, doubling the original capacitance; new bias supply; new FR-4 driver board outfitted with top grade Solens and precision resistors; new cooler running ceramic tube sockets; new bias pots; new RCA's and speaker binding posts; heavy duty power cord. Tubes are a quad of Svetlana EL34's, RCA 7199 driver tubes and a fat bottle rectifier. This has the original cloth lead Dyna trannies of course, which are among the best ever made.

The amp runs dead quiet and sounds absolutely superb. The upgrades really bring the ST-70 to a whole new dimension. Much better low and midrange response. Wonderful soundstage and imaging. This amplifier will outperform most amplifiers out there costing five times as much.

Cosmetically, it looks stunning in the stealth black. Wife approval no problem.