Making an ST-70 Driver Board

knowledge base for the classic Dynaco ST70

Making an ST-70 Driver Board

Postby antiquekid3 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:45 pm

I'm new here. I have an ST-70 in pretty rough shape that I plan on fully restoring. I've already started taking pictures from the get-go, so I should have some great before and after pictures!

This is an older model with the A470 output transformers. They appear to be in good shape.

Someone's already recapped the thing and removed the choke. Luckily I found a decent replacement. (1.2H, 60ΩDC)

However, the thing is, I am a cheap high school student. I refuse to spend a lot on this restoration, but I really want a new chassis. So if I get a new chassis, I won't want to spend a lot on the rest of it.

I have successfully made some PC boards before, so I am up for the challenge of making a driver board. Firstly, it has to be single-sided. Secondly, I would like to avoid the 7199s, so a 12AX7/12AU7 board or something close would be great. I also want extensive documentation for how to hook it up to the rest of the amp. Schematics, etc.

I don't have any CAD software, so if someone has a B&W picture of the layout, that'd be awesome!

Anyone have any suggestions?

Kyle
antiquekid3

Postby Geek » Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:26 pm

Hi, welcome!

You can begin by checking around here for what others did for ideas and inspiration. Some of us documented our restorations.

I hated the ST-70 look and changed it significantly:
http://geek.scorpiorising.ca/dynamutt.html

Cheers!
-= Gregg =-
Fine wine comes in glass bottles, not plastic sacks. Therefore the finer electrons are also found in glass bottles.
Geek
KT88

Postby antiquekid3 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:38 pm

Thanks!

Wow, that looks great! Though your ST-70 doesn't look at all original, it'd look great next to a Garrard 301 with a similarly-styled plinth! :-)

I am all for the original Dynaco look, but not necessarily the original driver board.