loud buzz after bypassing selenium rectifier with diode

knowledge base for the classic Dynaco ST70

loud buzz after bypassing selenium rectifier with diode

Postby jerkbag » Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:08 pm

hi all,

i posted this over at the dynaco doctor forums as well, but. . . i just did my first "mod" which was the basic soldering of a 1n4004 diode to the selenium recitifer. when i hooked everything back up, i got a LOUD buzz in both channels when the amp was turned on, regardless of volume setting or what preamp inputs were selected. after panicking for awhile (i'm new to soldering) i opened it up again and resoldered the diode. to my suprise, everything sounds fine now.

so what happened there? was a bad solder connection causing stray voltage to be all over the place? should i be worried about other damage?

thanks!
jerkbag

Postby burnedfingers » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:26 am

I think you figured it out. Your soldering skills seem to require more practice. Did you do any damage? I doubt it.
burnedfingers
KT88

Postby EWBrown » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:28 pm

On the bottlehead web site, it has often been stated that about 90% of amplifier problems are caused by basic soldering problems, some of which can show up immediately, and others don't fail until afer many hours' operation. If a solder connection doesn't look right, IE, shiny and smooth, with no roughness, holes or gaps, it is probably going to fail at some time. I've been soldering for over 45 years, and I still bung it up once in a while.

Then there was the Heathkit radio kit I saw back in the 1960s, which had all of its connections glued, rather than soldered. The kid's father wouldn't allow him to use a soldering iron, because he deemed it too dangerous. Needless to say, glue doesn't work very well. uggghhhhhhh.

/ed
Real Radios Glow in the Dark
EWBrown
Insulator & Iron Magnate

Postby mesherm » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:17 pm