Tube rectifier connections

ask your general tube related questions here

Tube rectifier connections

Postby Core32 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:34 am

I'm a complete newby to tube design, so watch out for smoke! :$
I've been researching designs for a tube PSU and I have a question regarding the connection between the transformer secondary(s) and the rectifier.
I will be using a 5U4GB tube.
I would like to know the effect/advantage of using the 5V secondary of the transformer like the second picture, versus not using it, in the first picture.
Does using the 5V secondary make the filter input inductive or would the filter input still be considered capacitive?
Attachments
supply2.gif
supply2.gif (3.27 KiB) Viewed 5199 times
Supply1.png
Supply1.png (2.3 KiB) Viewed 5199 times
Core32

Re: Tube rectifier connections

Postby SteveH » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:53 am

The first circuit is not a valid design - You need the 5v transformer to heat the tube.
SteveH
KT88

Postby Core32 » Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:11 pm

That makes perfect sense.
I have seen that bad example a few places on the web and I actually copied that one from a site and removed all the text with MSPaint before posting.
Are some rectifiers "self-heating", or some such terminology, that do not require the extra 5V windings?
Core32

Postby DeathRex » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:32 pm

The 0Z4 and the BH, and maybe some more. I don't have a 0Z4, but the BH is a very old rectifier, used in the earliest power supplies for radios, back in the 20s. It and the 0Z4 have gas inside to help with emission.
At first I wanted to be a ET. Now I are one.
DeathRex
KT88

Postby Core32 » Wed Jan 28, 2015 5:49 am

Thanks for the answers.
I also see some designs where the 5V winding has a center tap and the input to the filter is taken from there.
Are there any advantages/disadvantages to that arrangement?
Core32

Postby Shannon Parks » Wed Jan 28, 2015 8:06 am

Definitely have fun with this if you don't have it already:
http://www.duncanamps.com/psud2/