18WPC Schematic Help

ask your general tube related questions here

18WPC Schematic Help

Postby Blair » Sun Jan 21, 2007 11:29 am

Hello, I am pretty new to this, but I have a friend who designed this amplifier unit using 2 EL84s per channel. The amplifier has some grounding issues, and seems to lack some volume. We changed the resistance on the rectified power feeding the 100 uf cap to about 750 ohms leaving a B+ of about 250V. Before, with this schematic it was giving overdrive symptoms with harsh charachteristice. If anyone could help us to troubleshoot this issue It would be greatly appreciated.

I have never tried to post an image here, so here goes nothing:

Thank you

Blair

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-12/ ... EMATIC.JPG

Blair
KT88

Postby erichayes » Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:38 pm

Hi All,

Blair, what you're doing here is the electrical design equivalent of getting your car rolling by starting out in third gear. You're gonna scrub your clutch until it burns up.

What you need to do is start out with a conventional, non ultralinear 6BQ5 circuit that has cathode bias and a phase inverting stage and get that working. Then hook up the UL taps on the output transformer to the screens and make that work. Then, replace the cathode resistor/capacitor with the 317 network and see what happens. Finally, disconnect the phase inverter and wire the outputs as shown in your diagram, with one grid grounded and the other receiving input.

I believe that you will answer every question you had yourself. Theoretically, there's nothing wrong with the circuit you have. From a practical perspective, there are better ways to make an amplifier We'll all be here to help you figure out why.

Suggested schematics would be the Eico HF-14 and the output stage of a Heathkit AA-151. I also suggest you prolong your sanity by building only one channel; that way you'll only have one set of mistakes to correct as you go along.