Help, my K12-M is shrieking at me!

ask your general tube related questions here

Help, my K12-M is shrieking at me!

Postby DerekVa » Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:27 am

I have a K12-M (monoblock) that I use at work for background music that has suddenly started shrieking and distorting on me (almost like feedback). I've tried different tubes and a different speaker and no dice. Could it be a feedback resistor? A coupling cap? Any ideas? Help!

-Derek
DerekVa

Postby EWBrown » Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:16 pm

I'll relay some advice from the Bottlehead site: first check the all of solder connections, one could be flaky, or corroded. Sometimes these can lay dormant for a long time, then "go off" like a land mine, totally unexpected. I've been soldering for about 45 years, and I still make a dull / blob solder job, once in a while.

The PC boards that are supplied woth the K-12 / K502 /S-5 aren't of the best quality...

/ed B in NH
Real Radios Glow in the Dark
EWBrown
Insulator & Iron Magnate

Postby sorenj07 » Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:53 pm

Speaking of that, I don't suppose that the schematics for the K-12 and the monoblock are floating around? I'd be interested to see how they use those triode-pentodes...
sorenj07
KT88

Postby EWBrown » Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:32 am

I do have an original K-12 (stereo) schematic on this system, which I had siphoned off the net way back long time ago,I could e-mail it or attempt to post it here. I also had more recently scanned in the schematic with all my mods, but can't locate where it is "hiding" on which one of four computers... The cyber-landfill seems to get more and more full every day... :o

/ed B in NH
Last edited by EWBrown on Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
EWBrown
Insulator & Iron Magnate

Postby Shannon Parks » Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:37 am

Does it happen one only one channel? Is the circuit modded at all?
Shannon Parks
Site Admin

Postby mesherm » Thu Jan 11, 2007 7:16 am

Here is the schematic for the stereo 11MS8 version.