Solder Station Score!

the thermionic watercooler

Solder Station Score!

Postby coolhandjjl » Tue Oct 15, 2013 2:54 pm

I've been using cheapo solder irons for way, way, too long, decided to pop for a proper one. At my local Rad Shack, they had a Weller WESD51 marked down at $95. I was a bit dubious of the price, as it's Rad Shack, but I checked Amazon, and they have them for $150.

Guess I did pretty good. What's the deal with that dry sponge on the drip tray? Do I keep that wet and wipe the tip frequently? I'm a bit of a newbie with high quality audio kits.
coolhandjjl

Re: Solder Station Score!

Postby Shannon Parks » Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:36 pm

(whistles) That's a nice one!

My dad's Weller from the 60's still has the original tip (I think). I had a hand-me-down Weller from work that was a great iron - better than the Pace I had. These days I'm using the cheapo Hakkos.

Shannon
Shannon Parks
Site Admin

Postby WA4SWJ » Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:03 pm

I have two of those - one at home and one at work. Yes, keep the sponge damp and wipe the tip frequently while using. It can dry out of course between uses.

Nice price for a decent soldering station!
Ed Long
WA4SWJ
KT88

Postby coolhandjjl » Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:25 pm

Shannon Parks wrote:(whistles) That's a nice one!

My dad's Weller from the 60's still has the original tip (I think). I had a hand-me-down Weller from work that was a great iron - better than the Pace I had. These days I'm using the cheapo Hakkos.

Shannon

I have my Dad's Weller gun from the 1960's, still in the brown box with red and black ink. It's at my studio, so I can't look at the model number, but it's the black one everybody has/had. Original tip as well afaik.

I like this new station. Heats up right away, and a nice fine tip.
coolhandjjl

Postby pmarcin » Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:03 pm