Ebay Attenuators

the thermionic watercooler

Ebay Attenuators

Postby Bottlehead » Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:22 am

I just made an impulse buy on ebay--the seller has several different attenuators listed, this is a 24-position unit using all Vishay-Dale 1-percent resistors for $52. I'm no expert, as far as I can figure it's a stereo series attenuator with a constant impedance of 100K. Not being attenuator-savvy I may be wrong, perhaps it's a ladder L-pad. Either that or it's a fixed-series variable shunt. It's sure prettier than an ALPS or Noble doohickey for about the same price, if nothing else. Questions for those who know: Since it kind of defeats the purpose of gold posts, pricey interconnects etc. to feed an audio signal through 20 yards of cheap resistance wire, what type of stepped attenuator is best for A) direct control of a power amp like Baby Blue and B) controlling the volume of a DIY preamp (I'm trying to decide what to do with my dyna PAS3, it doesn't cut it in stock configuration).

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... RK:MEWA:IT
Bottlehead

Very nicely built!

Postby EWBrown » Wed Sep 15, 2004 5:42 am

A few months ago, I bought an earlier version of this stepped attenuator and it was very nicely made. This one was assembled with the resistors sticking out radially, so the total diameter is a little over 3" but the depth is about half of the unit depicted in the auction.

Instead of a series string of 23 resistors that add up to approximately 100K, as is done in the smaller and cheaper "Alps" units from another Taiwan seller, this one has 2 sets of 23 pairs of resistors that each add up to approximately 100K, and give approximately 3 dB steps. The switch is a 24 position, 4 pole, one position is a "stop" , so that the swtch doesn't just turn continuously around.

Just to buy the switch and the 92 resistors here in the US would cost far more than the $52, not to mention the hours of hand soldering that would be required to put it all together.