Newbie to Tube Audio

the thermionic watercooler

Newbie to Tube Audio

Postby rockable » Fri Apr 11, 2008 8:54 am

I'm not a newbie by any means when it comes to Hi Fi equipment, as that has been a hobby for 40 years, off and on. Also, I've repaired and restored guitar amps, mostly Fender, for the past 4 years.

The tube bug got to gnawing on me recently to do a vintage tube Hi Fi system. After doing much research, the ST-70 looks like a really good place to start. I have a set of Large Advents that I'm going to use and, thus far, have not bought any more components.

I do have a few questions. Should I get a "stock" ST-70 and tune it back up to stock specs or should I mod it? Should I just put in a new driver board and use upgraded cap can or should I put a power supply board in as well? I'd like to have a good sounding system and there seems to be room for improvement. What mods are recommended here?

Regarding a preamp, should I buy a NAD, Lux or similar older Solid State preamp or should I mod a PAS to use with my system? I will play ipod, CDs and Vinyl through it. Will I give up some of the tube magic by using SS preamp?

Any other tips?

Thanks for your patience and your opinions. I'm looking forward to this project. If it's like others, it will just be the start. :)
rockable

Re: Newbie to Tube Audio

Postby Slartibartfast » Fri Apr 11, 2008 9:12 am

rockable wrote:
I do have a few questions. Should I get a "stock" ST-70 and tune it back up to stock specs or should I mod it? Should I just put in a new driver board and use upgraded cap can or should I put a power supply board in as well? I'd like to have a good sounding system and there seems to be room for improvement. What mods are recommended here?

Regarding a preamp, should I buy a NAD, Lux or similar older Solid State preamp or should I mod a PAS to use with my system? I will play ipod, CDs and Vinyl through it. Will I give up some of the tube magic by using SS preamp?