Cool rambling capacitor post from audiokarma

the thermionic watercooler

Cool rambling capacitor post from audiokarma

Postby wiredbecker » Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:47 am

From a thread about recapping speakers.

Joe writes:

"Hi you guys, really interesting thread, I am new to AK, old to pro-audio. Retired pro audio designer, a lot of experience with caps, golden ear listening tests, and years of feedback to my designs in the field. I don’t usually express my opions in forums, a lot of bad experiences in the antique radio forums from a lot of lurkers just wanting to trash people trying to help, but this forum seems a lot better, I’ll give it a try. If any of you guys are from the recording industry, you would know my most successful design, the MCI JH-600 console. Or if you are into antique radios, I am sure you know me from Epay as radiosphonos. Anyways, I am old, and senile from 40 years of low level lead poisoning from solder, sinkers, and bullets, I’ll ramble, and forget in the middle what at the beginning I was decided to say in the end, and typing with two fingers is no help, this kinda talk is so much easier in person and with a white board. In no particular order, I believe I can give some of you guys a little more information to think about. Ok, electrolytics and several issues about them raised in this thread: if they are old they are not what they used to be, and by a lot. And for several reasons, this is a can of worms, yikes. Ok to understand this you need to consider the basics of capacitors in general and lytics in particular. A capacitor is simply conductors near each other, usually considered “plates” (planes) and for practical construction, parallel to each other (this is to make wanted capacitors, there are unwanted capacitors everywhere in our circuits like wires near each other, or lands on a circuit board, elements in a tube and on and on), but let’s discuss manufactured practical capacitors first. 2 Parallel plates or planes of conductors separate