Chassis Size Question

a DIY, modified Mullard 5-20 monoblock design

Chassis Size Question

Postby Jimster41 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:35 am

Is an 16"x8" Hammond Chassis going be do-able for these? I have the PCB's. At 6.5" wide I can imagine it being a tight fit?

I'm probably (surely) in over my head with this project, but that's the only kind of project worth doing I think.

Some other questions:
should there be "bleed resistors" across the (larger) capacitors? I read that somewhere.
Why is the Choke Filter not compatible with the Edcor Power Transformer selection?
Is there a consensus on which transformer "iron" is preferable in this amp at this point?

I at least know what color I'm going to paint them: 1950 polar blue. Old school. (banana)
Last edited by Jimster41 on Fri Feb 20, 2015 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jimster41
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:46 am

Re: Chassis Size Question

Postby Shannon Parks » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:03 am

Do you mean two Ike boards in a single 16x8x3? I have my Ikes in separate 12x8x3 chassis. Here's a pic of a 16x8 Ike with large trannies.

Shannon
Attachments
ike.jpg
ike.jpg (44.24 KiB) Viewed 2093 times
User avatar
Shannon Parks
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3762
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Re: Chassis Size Question

Postby Jimster41 » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:38 am

Thanks. If 12x8x3 will work then that's what I want. Two mono 12x8x3. Is there a choke on the board you show there?

I just was running the BOM for the PCBs through Mouser. Everything matched except for one part: 71-RN60D-F-3.3K. I did find a 3.27
Jimster41
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:46 am

Re: Chassis Size Question

Postby bootsie » Sat Feb 28, 2015 4:17 am

Jimster41 wrote:I just was running the BOM for the PCBs through Mouser. Everything matched except for one part: 71-RN60D-F-3.3K. I did find a 3.27


I've used 71-RN60D-F-3.32K - seemed to be closest.
bootsie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:34 am

Re: Chassis Size Question

Postby Shannon Parks » Sat Feb 28, 2015 11:49 am

Jimster41 wrote:Is there a choke on the board you show there?


It's just a mock up I did a few years ago, but yes, that's a C354 choke spaced in there.

Jimster41 wrote:I just was running the BOM for the PCBs through Mouser. Everything matched except for one part: 71-RN60D-F-3.3K. I did find a 3.27


Either the 3.27k or 3.32k resistors will sub A-OK.

Shannon
User avatar
Shannon Parks
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3762
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: Poulsbo, Washington


Return to eiclone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest