Tube sockets to use for Clementine

sweet & juicy SE amp for 1626 Darlings and the 6L6 family

Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby jukingeo » Sat Apr 18, 2015 1:31 pm

Hello All (but mostly Tom McNally)

I know that this question is for all, but mostly for Tom since he has more experience building Clementines than anyone else I know here.

Okay, so I just received my Clementine PCB from Shannon and noted that on the parts list, nothing is mentioned or recommended in terms of the type of octal sockets to use. Since I am aiming to go for the 6L6 build, I am aiming to do quite a bit of tube changing so I do want a socket that will hold up.

What I would like to know is what everyone using?

Furthermore, what size chassis punch I should get?

Also, would KT-66's work with the Clementine? I like the bottle shape on these and they are larger than 6L6's.

Thank You,

Geo
Exit Light, Enter Night, Take My Hand...We're off to Never Never Land.
jukingeo
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby noisy » Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:36 am

I would go for the KT66.
noisy
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:13 am

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby TomMcNally » Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:00 pm

Check these tube sockets out on eBay --

http://www.ebay.com/itm/330922218775?ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1436.l2649

Antique Electronic Supply has them too:

https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/P-ST8-193

Those sockets need a 1 1/16" punch. It's tight and looks good. Any bigger size is kind of sloppy.

Show us some pics when you finish !

... tom
User avatar
TomMcNally
Darling du Jour
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:19 pm
Location: Northfield, NJ

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby jukingeo » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:00 am

TomMcNally wrote:Check these tube sockets out on eBay --

http://www.ebay.com/itm/330922218775?ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1436.l2649

Antique Electronic Supply has them too:

https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/P-ST8-193

Those sockets need a 1 1/16" punch. It's tight and looks good. Any bigger size is kind of sloppy.

Show us some pics when you finish !

... tom


Hi Tom,

How are you doing?

Darn! I have a 1" punch and a 1 1/8" punch. That would mean I have to get the 1 1/16" punch too. Those Greenlee punches are expensive!

I know I been away from the forums for a while and that was because of my wife and I raising twin boys. I didn't want to play around with any kind of tube related audio projects for fear of the high voltages involved. All I need is to be testing an amplifier and one of them coming along and grabbing a 450volt B+ capacitor when I am not looking and then trying to explain to the wife that were our son was standing there is now a charcoal briquette.

Now they are 8 years old they seem to know better about what to touch and what not to touch. Still I am going to use Robinson screws on this one so they can't take it apart with standard screwdrivers.


noisy wrote:I would go for the KT66.


That is what I was thinking about too. The KT-66 has the same bottle shape as the KT-88 / 6550 and I like that 'big tube' look.

Thank you!

Geo
Exit Light, Enter Night, Take My Hand...We're off to Never Never Land.
jukingeo
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:45 am

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby Geek » Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:19 am

jukingeo wrote:I have a 1" punch and a 1 1/8" punch. That would mean I have to get the 1 1/16" punch too. Those Greenlee punches are expensive!


What many of us do is make a collection, one at a time through Ebay or flea markets, even local tool clearance sales (I got my 7/8" punch NIB for 75% off retail at a local Acklands-Grainger dumping discontinued stock). In 6 months to a year, you'll have a collection other's will be envious of, for the price of maybe two or three new ones!

Cheers!
-= Gregg =-
Fine wine comes in glass bottles, not plastic sacks. Therefore the finer electrons are also found in glass bottles.
User avatar
Geek
KT88
 
Posts: 3562
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:01 am
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby 20to20 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:45 am

Edit. ...for clarity. =:o :$
Last edited by 20to20 on Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Headed for Tishomingo to sing in a can...
User avatar
20to20
KT88
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: W-S, NC

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby TomMcNally » Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:18 pm

There are plenty of chassis mount Octal sockets that are different sizes, like the Belton that takes a 1 3/16" hole, but as far as circuit board mounts, there don't seem to be any other choices. I bought a bag of 100 a few years ago, and finally used them all. Time for some more. $)
User avatar
TomMcNally
Darling du Jour
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:19 pm
Location: Northfield, NJ

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby 20to20 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 3:09 pm

Edit, ... nothing contributory. :o) :o)
Last edited by 20to20 on Thu Apr 23, 2015 6:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Headed for Tishomingo to sing in a can...
User avatar
20to20
KT88
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:48 pm
Location: W-S, NC

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby jukingeo » Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:21 am

Hello All,

Well, I managed to come across a 1 1/16 GreenLee on Ebay, which I got for a good price. So that is on the way. So I can get those sockets Tom recommended.

But yeah, normally those Greenlee punches are really expensive and I can only afford to buy them one at a time.
Exit Light, Enter Night, Take My Hand...We're off to Never Never Land.
jukingeo
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:45 am

For the point-to-point builders

Postby EWBrown » Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:54 pm

If you ever use the chassis mount Russian or Chinese ceramic sockets, they need a 26 mm punch in order to fit "perfectly", the 1 1/16 inch Greenlee is probably
"close enough for government work", 1.0625 inch works out to approx. 27 mm (26.9875 mm for those who like to use Mister Spock calculating accuracy ;) (lol)

/ed B
Real Radios Glow in the Dark
User avatar
EWBrown
Insulator & Iron Magnate
 
Posts: 6389
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 6:03 am
Location: Now located in Clay County, NC !

Re: Tube sockets to use for Clementine

Postby jukingeo » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:51 pm

I been thinking about getting a socket with a mounting flange. Then it would be really secure on the chassis:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4pc-GOLD-8pin-P ... 233aef3de9
Exit Light, Enter Night, Take My Hand...We're off to Never Never Land.
jukingeo
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:45 am


Return to clementine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest