Help with choke specs

sweet & juicy SE amp for 1626 Darlings and the 6L6 family

Help with choke specs

Postby smhong » Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:20 pm

Hi Everybody! I just got Shannons pcb for clementine amp. I was going thru the mouser parts list and
found 1H choke at j6. When I looked at the schemetics that I got with pcb, it says 1.5H.
I am very new to tube amp building and learning alot from this forum.
Could I use 1.5H @ 250mA from the Edcor when I use Tung-Sol 6L6G New Production Power Vacuum Tube
from the tube depot. I have not ordered any parts yet. First I have to learn how to solder!!!
Thank you for your help.
smhong

Re: Help with choke specs

Postby battradio » Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:17 pm

If you really want to use the 1.5 hy coke , use the triode http://www.triodeelectronics.com/c354.html , the mouser will work fine though .
Mark
battradio
KT88

Postby mesherm » Sun Apr 21, 2013 8:49 pm

If your new to soldering you should be warned that the Clementine PCB is thick and some pads (mostly the ground plane) take some extra effort to solder properly.

http://www.aaroncake.net/electronics/solder.htm
Mike's N-1 Rule: When looking for N number of components to finish a job, you have a 95% chance of only finding N-1 of them.
mesherm
KT88

Postby smhong » Mon Apr 22, 2013 6:39 am

Thank you for your help. Like you said that it might be too much for a beginner like me.
I want to have fun not hard time and get frustrated!!! Maybe you could recommand
a one of Shannon's boards. How about budgie se? I will keep the clementine for later.
I did very little bit of soldering when I took computer science in college ( 20 years ago )
Thanks again.
smhong

Postby mesherm » Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:40 pm