Mark IV big can capacitor replacement

for Dynaco Mark II/III/IV and DIY PP monoblocks

Mark IV big can capacitor replacement

Postby pgeejr » Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:28 pm

So as part of my restoration to do, are there options as to replacing the big can capacitor?
pgeejr
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:14 pm

Re: Mark IV big can capacitor replacement

Postby Geek » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:07 pm

Both Sheldon Stokes and I sell cap boards.

Antique Electronics Supply sells new-manufacture can caps (USA made).

Cheers!
-= Gregg =-
Fine wine comes in glass bottles, not plastic sacks. Therefore the finer electrons are also found in glass bottles.
User avatar
Geek
KT88
 
Posts: 3563
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:01 am
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia

Re: Mark IV big can capacitor replacement

Postby pgeejr » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:56 am

Is this the same board that is used for the MK III that is sold at Triode ELectronics?
pgeejr
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:14 pm

Re: Mark IV big can capacitor replacement

Postby Geek » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:14 pm

Yes.

Not 100% if they fit ... can someone confirm other than schematics, they're mechanically identical?
-= Gregg =-
Fine wine comes in glass bottles, not plastic sacks. Therefore the finer electrons are also found in glass bottles.
User avatar
Geek
KT88
 
Posts: 3563
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 3:01 am
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia

Re: Mark IV big can capacitor replacement

Postby pgeejr » Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:45 pm

well, the next question is, I might just do the can replacement, can I use the 80,40,30,20-525v or should I just stick with 40,20,20,20 -525v? Because I forgot where I read it, it might be better to use the higher rating one especially if I was to use a solid state rectifier.
pgeejr
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:14 pm


Return to poseidon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest