Single source input - Squeezebox to ST-35

for the DIY ST35, the Dynakit and every other PP EL84

Single source input - Squeezebox to ST-35

Postby SpyderMike » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:08 pm

I am building a very simple system. I use a Squeezebox Touch and I would like to connect direct to my soon to be modded original ST-35. I am looking to be able to leave the Touch "volume" on high for best digital quality. I need to vary the analog out from the Touch (input to the ST-35). Are theer any simple solutions? I think the Touch RCA outputs are max 2V out and the Touch headphone out is just under 1V out.

I am trying to avoid a preamp just for this sigle saource...unless it is a very small box (i.e., Not a PAS unit)

I am new to this electronics/audio hobby and am learning alot, so I would appreciate your answer taking that into consideration!

Thanks,
Mike
SpyderMike

Postby SpyderMike » Fri Jan 20, 2012 5:18 pm

would a simple audio log attenuator work? On the 2 volt out or the headphone out?
SpyderMike

Postby corndog71 » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:14 pm

http://amzn.com/B0049MOK92

I just got one of these and it works well. Although I've read that the ST35 really needs a preamp to drive it properly.
corndog71

Postby Thermion » Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:57 am

I am looking to be able to leave the Touch "volume" on high for best digital quality.

The Touch volume won't affect digital quality. That is pre-determined by your file format, sampling rate, etc. It will affect the analog output on the Touch. If you run your Touch volume at max, you greatly increase the potential to overdrive your analog output generating high distortion. Especially with modern compressed digital sources and streaming audio.

Since your Squeezebox Touch has a line level audio out, I would recommend simply connecting to your ST-35 and using your Touch volume.