Mix n Match

for the DIY ST35, the Dynakit and every other PP EL84

Mix n Match

Postby valvehead » Mon Jul 07, 2008 2:45 am

Hi everyone, only just joined the forum though i have read it for a while.
I have always loved tube amps and used to have a small repair shop in Dublin Ireland a long time ago. I now live in New Zealand and own a Audio visual design and installation company.
Anyway i am just getting into construction of my first ST-35. I have a couple of questions:
I have a pair of Beacon OPT 12watt 9k 20KC to 20KC number S.135.
Anyone tried something like these? To me the P-P seems a little high for EL84s?I cant find any info on them.
Yellow_Light_Colorz_PDT_17
Just scored a power tranny with 400 @ 450v 180ma secondaries that i plan to use with a SS rec. It does have a 5v winding -thoughts?

Aaron[/b]
valvehead

Postby valvehead » Thu Jul 10, 2008 12:56 am

anyone out there?
valvehead

Postby 6L6/807 » Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:26 am

Greetings Aaron,

I'm not familiar with the transformers you mentioned but 9k plate to plate is a suitable load for push/pull EL84/6BQ5 valves.

Characteristics and Typical Operation

Push Pull Class AB1 Amplifier [TS}
Plate Voltage ................................. 300 V
Grid No. 2 Voltage ............................ 300 V
Grid No. 1 Voltage Derived from
Cathode Bias Resistor ....................... 130 Ω
Peak Grid No. 1 Voltage........................ 28.2 V
Plate Current (Zero Signal) ................... 72 mA
Plate Current (Maximum Signal) ................ 92 mA
Grid No. 2 Current (Zero Signal) .............. 8 mA
Grid No. 2 Current (Maximum Signal) ........... 22 mA
Load Resistance ............................... 8K Ω
Power Output (approx) ......................... 17 W
Total Harmonic Distortion ..................... 4 %