Total NooB Have A Couple of Q's

for the DIY ST35, the Dynakit and every other PP EL84

Total NooB Have A Couple of Q's

Postby unohu69 » Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:02 am

Ok, Im new here. I have been lurking for a few weeks. I have happened to come across some very nice high end audio components. Some stuff got tossed by my mom (the usual excuse huh?) before I knew what anything was. Old Fisher tube stereo and stuff. Any way among the toys is a really nice Dynaco SCA-35. It works great, it does run a little hot but i hear thats normal. My question is Im more of a guitar player than a serious audio listener. with my music you'd never hear a little distortion in your system so it doesnt matter to me as much.

I would like to convert the dynaco into a tube guitar amplifier. Can it be done ? technically it will work like it is, I have no gain control tho.
So can this amp be bridged to run full mono into a single/dual speaker configuration.

In a tube amp how do I increase the output wattage? which components are responsible for the power( laymans term please lol)

Not all tube amps run as hot as this thing so how would you make it run cooler? Why did dynaco let this thing run hot like this. a little extreme dont ya think?

Can I add distortion effects to the amp? to run with one channel then both if in mono. before the stereo mono switch maybe?. then I could use the balance control to sweep between the clean/distortion channel.

Ultimately I wanted to use this for guitar but i figure its not loud enough, If I connect a guitar to the phono inputs and run thru the phono board then i get lots of gain and sound but havent had the time to play with it all.

any Ideas? Or comments..
unohu69

Postby TomMcNally » Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:13 pm

Hi and welcome to the diytube forum !

You could in theory use the SCA-35 for a guitar amp, but it's probably not going to be very reliable without a little work.

Let me try to answer your questions ...